Mama bella!

Being half Italian means I really do enjoy a homemade pizza. I have childhood memories of my family making and eating the most wonderful pizzas that were authentic. One of the things I have missed the most since going gluten free is a good pizza, homemade that is. I tried a shop bought pizza base mix and it was so terrible, we scraped the toppings off and ate those. Never again!

Last Friday, I really felt like pizza and had all the necessary toppings but no base so I did a long and rather arduous search (getting hungrier and hungrier by the minute) and finally found a recipe I was willing to try. It is so simple and quick. All you need is:

1 & 1/4 cup tapioca flour

1 teaspoon of baking powder

1/2 cup of grated cheese

2 eggs

1/4 cup of melted butter

I added all the ingredients together in a bowl and just used a wooden spoon to mix it all up! I also added some Italian herbs and basil to the mix. It is quite sticky but I spread the mixture on a baking tray with a tablespoon and built a pizza as per usual. The oven was preheated to 230 degrees C and the pizza took about 10 minutes to cook to perfection. It was divine, so much so I made more on Sunday. After all, isn’t that what weekends are for? Don’t be fooled by the seemingly little amount of dough-it is filling and holds up the toppings just as well as normal pizza dough. It was even better the next day.

The recipe itself is adapted from Brazilian Poa de quejo (cheese bread) — a naturally gluten free recipe using tapioca flour. I shall soon be feeding this recipe to one of my oldest and dearest friends who also is gluten free.

This is my kind of gluten free living, simple yet delicious!

Ciao xx

Leave a comment